Franklin County Court House

County Clerk

Kip Cassavaw, County Clerk

P.O Box 70
355 West Main Street, Suite 248
Malone, NY 12953

Leslie Hyde, Deputy County Clerk
Phone: 518-481-1682


Franklin County Clerk's Office hours:

8:00 am ~ 4:00pm, Monday through Friday (closed holidays and Black Friday)




Image result for check us out on facebook logo


We Are Here to Help!

The duties and responsibilities of the County Clerk are broad, and this office interacts with nearly everyone in our community on a routine basis.

  • Need a copy of the deed to your home?
  • Does your signature on a legal document require notarization?
  • Have a question about court records?
  • How about your driver’s license, does it need to be renewed?
  • Traveling outside the United States any time soon?
  • Starting your own business?
  • Registering a handgun?
  • Researching family history?

If your answer to any of the questions posed above is yes, then we can help ... right here in the Franklin County Clerk’s Office!

About Our County Clerk

Kip Cassavaw is the current Franklin County Clerk. He is the 29th person to hold this office. The first Franklin County Clerk was James S. Allen, who took office following the creation of the County of Franklin in 1808.

The office of Franklin County Clerk is a position that is elected on a countywide basis. The County Clerk is one of four elected administrative offices in Franklin County: County Clerk, County Executive, County Sheriff and District Attorney. County Clerks are Constitutional Officers, as their office is prescribed for in the Constitution of the State of New York. The term of office for County Clerk is four years.

The County Clerk oversees the operation of the Franklin County Clerk’s Office and is responsible for the following duties:

  • Clerk of Court
    The County Clerk is the 
    Clerk of the Supreme and County Courts and is responsible for maintaining the court files for civil and criminal matters;
  • County Clerk’s Office
    Is the record keeper for the county, serving as a recording office for deeds, mortgages and many other legal documents pertaining to real estate.  The County Clerk also oversees the storage, proper retention of records and the disposition of records through the Records Management Office which is a subdivision within the County Clerk’s Office.  The County Clerk’s Office issues peddler permits to veterans, administers & files oaths of offices and military discharges.
  • Notary
    The County Clerk is a
    Notary of Franklin County and provides for the general public’s use of a notary.
  • Passport Acceptance Agent
    The County Clerk acts as an agent for the United States government and accepts applications for U.S. Passports in Franklin County;
  • Pistol Permit Acceptance Agent
    In Franklin County, the County Clerk is responsible for accepting pistol permit applications and maintaining the files of pistol permit holders. The Judge of Franklin County Court act as issuing officers and determine approval, revocation and suspension of permits;
  • Registrar of Assumed Business Names
    In accordance with New York State General Business Law (Section 130), the County Clerk accepts and files certificates of persons conducting business under an assumed business name, commonly referred to as DBA (Doing Business As) filings;
  • Motor Vehicle Agent
    The County Clerk is an agent for the State of New York, the County Clerk provides DMV services (driver licenses, vehicle registrations, etc.) at two Department of Motor Vehicles Offices; Main office located in the Franklin County Courthouse and the satellite office located in the Harrietstown Town Hall, 39 Main Street, Suite 4, Saranac Lake.
The Franklin County Clerk's office is not responible for vital records.  To obtain birth, death or marriage records, contact the clerk of the town or city where the birth, death or marriage occurred.  You may also obtain records through the New York State Bureau of Vital Statistice.  They can be reached by calling (518) 474-3077 (New York State) or by visiting their website at
***  For additional documents not listed below, please visit (link available below).


© 2020 Franklin County, Franklin County